In the Science Center, our safety committees guide us all to ensure we provide a safe environment for students, employees, faculty, and staff as well as others visiting our facilities and to help ensure compliance with federal, state, and local codes and regulations. The committees achieve these goals by approving relevant policies and practices within their areas of responsibility, approving relevant research protocols, and analyzing emergent issues and problems.

  • Institutional Chemical Hygiene Committee (ICHC)
    This is our safety committee with the broadest charge. It serves as Smith’s 
    Institutional Chemical Hygiene Committee (ICHC), but also addresses safety issues and problems that come up in relation to research and instruction but fall outside the charges of other institutional safety committees. [It has been proposed to rename the committee “The Safety Committee for Research and Instruction” to better reflect the broad scope of its work.]

  • Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
    The IACUC has oversight of animal care and use in our facilities.
  • Institutional Biosafety Committee
    The IBC has oversight for recombinant DNA research as required to comply with NIH Guidelines, as well as work with potentially infectious biological materials, including those from human and non-human primates.
  • Institutional Research Board (IRB)
    The IRB oversees human subject research at Smith.
  • Radiation Safety Committee
    The RSC oversees the use of radioactive isotopes, X-ray generators and lasers, along with other controlled sources of radiation as listed in the College’s Radiation Safety Handbook, in our facilities.

Additional resources:

<Return to Safety>