The summer of 2020 will be the 52nd year that Smith has had a formal student summer research program!  Hands-on research collaboration between faculty and students is a cornerstone of the science education at Smith, so the summer program has always been very important to us. We invite you to join the students who will receive stipends to support their independent research during the summer of 2020.horiz_ss11

SURF is the centerpiece of our undergraduate research program. Smith and some of its liberal arts peer institutions have collaborated to describe key elements of successful undergraduate research opportunities (“Grow an Undergraduate Research Program“).

SURF Info session, Friday November 15, 12:10pm, McConnell 103.

SURF 2020 Timeline-coming soon.
Below is the timeline from 2019 which will be aproximately the same for 2020.

Monday, December 3, 2018
SURF Application Open
Friday, February 8, 2019
11:59 am EST
 
SURF Application Due
Wednesday, February 20
Most students notified of award status
Friday, April 5
Student commitment forms due
~ Monday April 15- Wednesday May 1
 
Summer Housing applications accepted by ResLife
 
Monday May 27 to
Friday, August 2

 

Official SURF 2019 program dates
Thursday, September 5,
SURF Abstracts, due from students
SURF post program survey


Questions? Contact Heather McQueen  surf@smith.edu.