Curriculum Vitae James D. Lowenthal Updated January 2021

Department of Astronomy Smith College (413) 585-6995

181 Crescent St. Northampton, MA 01060 (413) 586-4088

EDUCATION

University of Arizona, Tucson, AZPhD in Astronomy: "Line Emission from Galaxies at High Redshift"1991Advisor: Prof. Craig Hogan

Yale College, New Haven, CT BS in Astronomy & Physics

1986

AWARDS AND HONORS

Smith College Sherrerd Teaching Award, 2020 Vice President, American Astronomical Society, 2016-2019 Lilly Teaching Fellowship, UMass Amherst, 1999 - 2000 Hubble Postdoctoral Fellowship, UCO/Lick Observatory, 1993 - 1996 NASA Graduate Student Research Program Fellowship, UofAz, 1988-1991

EMPLOYMENT

2019 - present: Mary Elizabeth Moses Professor of Astronomy, Smith College

- 2012 2019: Professor, Department of Astronomy, Smith College
- 2005 2012: Associate Professor, Department of Astronomy, Smith College
- 2002 2005: Assistant Professor, Department of Astronomy, Smith College
- 1997 2002: Assistant Professor, Department of Astronomy, UMass Amherst
- 1996 1997: Postdoctoral Researcher, UCO/Lick Observatory

1993 - 1996: Hubble Fellow, UCO/Lick Observatory

1991 - 1993: **Postdoctoral Researcher**, Space Telescope Science Institute and Department of Physics and Astronomy, Johns Hopkins University

PRIMARY RESEARCH INTERESTS

High-redshift galaxies	Galaxy formation and evolution
QSO absorption line systems	Starburst galaxies
Exoplanets	Submillimeter and radio galaxies

GRANTS AWARDED 1997-2020

NSF, Improving Undergraduate STEM Education 2016-2019 (CoI) NASA Hubble Space Telescope, PI: Cycles 6, 7, 8, 9, 23; CoI: Cycles 9, 11 NASA Spitzer Space Telescope, Cycle 3 (PI) NSF, Extragalactic and Cosmology 2002-2005 (PI) NSF, UC-MEXUS-CONACYT (CoI)

PUBLICATIONS

54 referred publications as of January 2021Total of 3768 citations1 book1 conference proceeding edited

NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL SERVICE 2000-2020

2020: SOC member and BioEnvironment Working Group Chair, Dark & Quiet Skies conference and report to United Nations Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space 2020: SOC member, SATCON1 workshop and report to National Science Foundation 2018 - : Vice-President, International Astronomical Union Commission C.B7 on Protection of Existing and Potential Observatory Sites 2016 - 2019: Vice President, American Astronomical Society 2015 - : AAS Committee on Light Pollution, Radio Interference, and Space Debris 2010 - 2015, 2017 - (Chair, 2010-2012, 2014-2017): Founding Member, AAS Committee on Sustainability 2016: Hubble Space Telescope Cycle 24 Review Panel 2013 - 2014: Panelist and Chair, NASA/Keck Time Allocation Committee 2012: Hubble Space Telescope Cycle 20 Review Panel 2012 - 2016: AAS Committee on Astronomy and Public Policy (CAPP) 2014 - 2015: CAPP/AAAC task force on NSF/NASA/DOE grant success rates 2012 - 2015: NASA Cosmic Origins Program Advisory Group ExComm (COPAG) 2009 - 2012: American Astronomical Society Council 2011: Hubble Space Telescope Cycle 19 Review Panel 2009: "Future of NOAO" Advisory Panel, 2010 NRC Decadal Survey White Paper 2006 - 2009 : Chair, National Optical Astronomy Observatory Users Committee 2006: NASA/Spitzer Space Telescope Review Panel 2004: NASA/Spitzer Space Telescope Review Panel 2004: National Science Foundation Review Panel 2002: NASA/SIRTF Fellow Review Panel 1999 - 2001: National Optical Astronomy Observatory Time Allocation Committee

SMITH COLLEGE AND FCAD SERVICE

Chair, Faculty Council	Amherst + UMass Amherst fac. search cte's.
Chair, Committee on Sustainability	Committee on Academic Priorities
Chair, Astronomy Department	Campus Planning Committee
LMT Science Committee	Committee on Mission and Priorities
FCAD Senate	Advisory Council on Resource Allocation (ACRA)
Science Planning Committee	Five College Fellows Committee
Tenure & Promotion Committee	Writing and Public Discourse Committee

PhD THESES SUPERVISED: Yuxi Chen (PhD 2012), Nicolas Bouché (PhD 2003) COMMITTEE MEMBER for: Patrick Kamieneski, Joe Burchett (PhD 2017), Daisuke Iono (PhD 2004), Jessica Rosenberg (2000)

UNDERGRADUATE SPECIAL STUDIES, AEMES, STRIDE, and SURF STU-DENTS SUPERVISED: Olivia Cooper '20, Annie Peck '20, Allison Erena '19, Jennifer Kahn '19, Rebekah Kahn '19, Rachel O'Connor '18, Jocelin Ramirez '18, Eleanor Adachi '17, Beth Capiro '16, Emily Kaplan '16, Tia Alliy '15, Isabel Lipartito '15, Eva Lubeck-Shricker '15, Joselyn Quintanilla '15, Katie Lipow '15, Roseanne Hui '15, Audra Macie '14, Kimberly Finn, MHC '14, Rouwenna Lamm '08, Cara Dodge '07, Marisa Robinson '08, Bryan Lyons (Amherst) '05, Nick Durham (HC) '03